Osha is proposing a 3 year extension of the time line for certification of crane operators. Please don’t wait until the deadline is here to become certified. We will be holding prep classes this fall and another in the winter.
Department of Transportation will require all commercial driver license holders to fill out a CDL form. Holders of a CDL license must complete a CDL self certification form by January 30, 2014. This form gives the registry your medical certificate expiration date. This form must be submitted, if not your CDL will be changed to a standard passenger enforcement. Renewal certificates must also be submitted before the expiration date supplied in that form. If not submitted, your CDL endorsement will be returned to a class D passenger endorsement. This form can be downloaded on the registry website.
MA Department of Public Safety inspectors are on jobs checking hoisting licenses. Operators must carry with them a valid hoisting license, DOT physical card and drivers license when in a machine. The department can assess fines if you violate this or any other regulation.
The law also states anyone in the seat of a piece of moving equipment must be licensed. This includes a mechanic testing the machine or a truck driver loading or unloading a machine. Hoisting license classes are offered at the training school.
Anyone working in the state of Connecticut is required to have completed OSHA-10 training within 5 years. There are many companies having this requirement in their safety programs. We are offering 2 OSHA-10 classes this winter to make employment easier for you.
The Training Fund recently purchased a Volvo EC 55 excavator. This machine has switchable controls so if you need to brush up on another control pattern it is here for your use as a member of Local 98.
This winter Local 98 training will be offering many classes that can lead to more employment to our members. Changes in the OSHA crane standard require qualified signal person and qualified riggers. These changes have been in effect since November 2010. Certified crane operators will be required in 2014. This certification will be required in all states, even those without a crane license such as Vermont and New Hampshire. Please do not wait until the last minute to obtain these requirements. A reminder to any member that may be working in Connecticut, your OSHA 10 card must be dated within 5 years to be employed in that state. If you have any questions about the classes offered or any training need you may have please contact the training school.
If you have a need for any type of training please contact the training school. If a class is not currently being offered, you will be put on a waiting list. These lists will be used to plan future classes. The training fund recently purchased a Volvo 170 rubber tire excavator. Many contractors are looking for operators experienced on rubber tire machines. The machines at the training school are available for all members, journeymen and apprentices. Take advantage of them and add to your skills.
The Massachusetts Department of Public Safety is currently backlogged and running a few months behind with license renewal and new applications. Please check your expiration date on your hoisting license and send the renewal as early as possible. DPS stated if you sent your renewal in for your license and have not received your new license, carry a copy of the check that you sent to DPS for renewal until your new license is sent to you. A current Medical Card is also required to obtain a Hoisting License.